Map of Maldives

Part of Maldives Map Showing south Male Atoll
Maldives is made up of 1190 coral islands dispersed over an area of 90000 square kilometers in India Ocean. The islands are naturally grouped into 26 atolls. Each island is surrounded by sea. It is common to find many islands sharing same lagoon, in the same area there are individually isolated islands as well. Most of the islands have its own house reef that protects the beach and some atolls have outer reef that protects the entire atoll.

Atolls in the Maldives:

• Haa Alifu Atoll
• Haa Dhaalu Atoll
• Shaviyani Atoll
• Noonu Atoll
• Raa Atoll
• Baa Atoll
• Lhaviyani Atoll
• Kaafu Atoll (also known as Male’ Atoll)
• Alifu Alifu Atoll (also known as North Ari Atoll)
• Alifu Dhaalu Atoll (also known as South Ari Atoll)
• Vaavu Atoll
• Meemu Atoll
• Faafu Atoll
• Dhaalu Atoll
• Thaa Atoll
• Laamu Atoll
• Gaafu Alifu Atoll
• Gaafu Dhaalu Atoll
• Gnaviyani Atoll (also known as Fuvamulah)
• Seenu Atoll

Download Map of Maldives here